Glasgow Coma Scale

By January 19, 2019 April 11th, 2019 No Comments

There are a few different systems that medical practitioners use to diagnose the symptoms of Traumatic Brain Injury.  This section discusses the Glasgow Coma Scale.  Click on the link to find out more information about the Ranchos Los Amigos Scale.

The Glasgow Coma Scale is based on a 15-point scale for estimating and categorizing the outcomes of brain injury on the basis of overall social capability or dependence on others.

The test measures the motor response, verbal response and eye opening response with these values:

I. Motor Response

6 – Obeys commands fully
5 – Localizes to noxious stimuli
4 – Withdraws from noxious stimuli
3 – Abnormal flexion, i.e. decorticate posturing
2 – Extensor response, i.e. decerebrate posturing
1 – No response

II. Verbal Response

5 – Alert and Oriented
4 – Confused, yet coherent, speech
3 – Inappropriate words and jumbled phrases consisting of words
2 – Incomprehensible sounds
1 – No sounds

III. Eye Opening

4 – Spontaneous eye opening
3 – Eyes open to speech
2 – Eyes open to pain
1 – No eye opening

The final score is determined by adding the values of I+II+III.

This number helps medical practitioners categorize the four possible levels for survival, with a lower number indicating a more severe injury and a poorer prognosis:

Mild (13-15):

More in-depth discussion on the Mild TBI Symptoms page.
Moderate Disability (9-12):

Loss of consciousness greater than 30 minutes
Physical or cognitive impairments which may or may resolve
Benefit from Rehabilitation
Severe Disability (3-8):

Coma: unconscious state.  No meaningful response, no voluntary activities
Vegetative State (Less Than 3):

Sleep wake cycles
Arousal, but no interaction with environment
No localized response to pain
Persistent Vegetative State:

Vegetative state lasting longer than one month
Brain Death:

No brain function
Specific criteria needed for making this diagnosis